Sunday, August 17, 2014

Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth

Four is a collection of novellas based on, Veronica Roth's carefully construced, Divergent Trilogy. The are titled, The Transfer,  The Initiate, The Son and The Traitor. These short stories are told from, Four's perspective. Four is perhaps the most interesting character in the entire trilogy and if you want to know more about him, pick up this book.

The Transfer is about, who, Four was when he was in abnegation and why he chose to transfer into, Dauntless. It centers around the choosing ceremony. This one is perhaps the most powerful of the novellas since it deals with the abuse, Four, endured at the hands of his father.

The Initiate is all about Tobias' (a.k.a Four) initiation into the, Dauntless faction. It expands the story on how he got his tattoo and name.This is the story of how Tobias became Four.

The Son deals with, Fours struggle to find himself amongst the Dauntless leadership. In this novella, Four trains to become a leader and you will find out why he chooses not to become one.

The Traitor conicides with the first novel, Divergent. It is Four's point of view on things rather than, Tris'. 

This is an excellent companion novel. I wasn't planning on reading it but I'm glad I did. It was interesting to see Tobias become Four. I also enjoyed getting some background information on minor characters.

Grade: A-

No comments:

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin Release Date: June 26, 2018 I love Emily Giffin's writing. She is amongst a small number o...