Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

Baby Teeth is deliciously disturbing. 

If you are familiar with and enjoyed "The Bad Seed" (book and movie) and/or Lionel Shriver's, "We need to talk about Kevin" this book is for you. 

Hanna is a selective mute, deeply disturbed and has been kicked out of numerous schools. Suzette is forced to home school her. Hanna's tricks are becoming more dangerous and Suzette is her target. 
Suzette's sanity and health are at risk and she has nowhere to turn. 

Alex is blinded by the love he has for his daughter and Hanna only shows him her sweet side, playing the perfect, sweet daughter whenever he is around. 

Hanna hates her mom and wants her gone and she will do anything to make it possible but will her father, Alex open his eyes before it's too late?

Baby Teeth is a good read. I struggled initially but once I found the flow of the novel, I was mesmerized and turning pages in anticipation of what would happen next. The book is told from alternating points of views and it's absolutely intriguing to see the side of " evil" when Hanna "speaks". This creepy story about this malevolent child will keep you entertained. 




* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Friday, July 27, 2018

Before and Again by Barbara Delinsky


It takes just seconds to change your life especially when your driving. A missed stop sign results in a car crash and tragedy strikes. Mackenzie Cooper's young daughter is dead but the punishment of her death doesn't stop there. The media is reltensless, legalities ensue and her marriage falls apart.

Mackenzie, reinvents herself and moves to a new city and changes her name to Maggie. Devon, Vermont seems like the perfect small place for her to live out her life . She had a job she loves, has her own home and a handful of friends.

Her bestfriend's son is accused of hacking, making the media descend on the town , she fears that her probation might be at risk and soon her life becomes more complicated than ever. 

I felt very indifferent about this book. I didn't love it or hate it.  There was way too much going on, it was as though Delinksy took a handful of story ideas and threw them all into one. They were all good ideas but put together it all became a bit too much and soap operas like. 

The ending is predictable and cheesy but if you like books similar to this style you will be enterained by this one. 

* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Thursday, July 12, 2018

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones
Release date: August 21, 2018 


Stop what you are doing. Order this book and settle down for a fast paced thriller with an ending you won't see coming. This is a deliciously wicked story, that will entertain you and keep you turning the pages until all is revealed. This is Jones debut novel and she doesn't disappoint. 


Emily has met and is in love with the perfect man. Adam is everything she wished for and then more. He is loving, caring and attentive. Emily is head over heels in love with him. Her friends think she is moving too fast but Emily is smitten and feel safe.  

Emily becomes a bit suspicious when Adam is hesitant to introduce her to his mother but when that day finally arrives, she find out maybe it's best had she never met her. His mother, Pammie is manipulative, callus and makes it clear to Emily, that she isn't good enough for her son. Pammie will go to any length to make sure, Emily isn't a part of their lives and as the relationship between Adam and Emily grows, Pammie becomes more calculated and Emily's foe. 

* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Friday, July 6, 2018

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

I Have Lost My Way,  follows three characters whose lives intersect. It takes place over one day and is told from the point of view of each character. Freya is a singer who has suddenly without any known reason lost her ability to sing. Harun is gay and afraid to come out to his family as they are deeply religious and Nathaniel's live is falling apart, he is very lonely and depressed.

An incident causes their lives to come together and these three lost souls, who are struggling alone find solace in one another.

The characters are each very distinct in a variety of ways from culture to personality yet in a short amount of time they connect and are able to offer each other comfort, something they can't find from others in their lives.

This is a lovely story about friendship, youth, feeling lost and then connecting with someone and feeling more a part of life.

I enjoyed this novel and would recommend it. My main complaint was that the ending was to abrupt. I felt it had a few more chapters in it.


Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Lies by TM Logan

Joe Lynch's seemingly perfect life is about to change. He adores his wife and their young son but when he decides to follow his wife's car inside an underground car garage he witnesses his wife arguing with Ben (a friend of the family) and life as he knows it starts to unravel in a fast paced, entertaining fashion. 

Joe confronts Ben in the parking lot. They get into a physical argument and Joe knocks, Ben unconscious. Immediately, his young son has an asthma attack and with no inhaler in sight, Joe leaves to take care of his son.

Joe returns to check on Ben and Ben and his car are missing. Shortly after, Joe starts to receive threatening messages from Ben. Joe reports, Ben missing and becomes a suspect. Joe now has to prove his innocence. 

TM Logan, tells this debut novel from a first person perspective and a twist that will make your head spin. This is a perfect psychological thriller that uses fast paced technology to enhance the story line.  This is a cat and mouse thriller that will entertain you for hours.

* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Thursday, June 28, 2018

Watch the Girls by Jennifer Wolfe

 Watch the Girls by Jennifer Wolfe 
Release Date: July 10, 2018


Liv Hendricks use to be famous but she quit acting when her sister disappeared. It's been 15 years and Liv is a washed up teen star and broke. She is forced to return to the spotlight and while trying to get funding for a web series in which she will be a real private detective she is challenged to investigate the disappearances of women in a town made famous by horror movies that have been filmed there.

The first clue is followed by a series of other clues and information via social media. The more exposure the web series gets, the darker the game becomes especially when Liv's sister becomes a part of this dangerous game. Liv, is desperate to find the connection involving all the missing girls but what will it cost her as she's caught up in her own real horror film.

This is a fast paced thrilled with twists and turns. There is a level of predictability. The graphic scenes and sexual violence could make it difficult for some readers. 


* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

The Outsider by Stephen King

Stephen King has done it again. Be prepared to be completely enthralled. This book anted up the creep factor for me, as I grew up with tales of "The Outsider."

Terry Maitland has just been arrested for the murder of eleven year old local boy. There is strong evidence connecting him to the murder but he has a solid alibi. The investigation is stirring up more questions than answers.  Like many of his novels is comes down to good vs. evil.

The book pulls you in from page one and just continues to build up. There are so many twist and turns you aren't sure what path King is taking you down. It is purely unpredictable. The little hairs on the back of your neck stand and you might want to sleep with the light on!

Be prepared for some brutal, graphic scenes and a fun cameo from a well known author. This book is classic, Stephen King. First book that has left me on edge in years and keeping an ear out for creepy noises at night.

"Monsters are real, ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win." - Stephen King


Wednesday, May 30, 2018

The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll


Luckiest Girl Alive
Released May 15, 2018

The Favorite Sister is Jessica Knoll's second novel. It isn't nearly as intense or intriguing as her first novel, Luckiest Girl Alive but it is entertaining and suspenseful.

The book is about five successful women who are the stars of a reality show called Goal Diggers. They are on season four and one of them has been murdered.

The story is told from the point of view of 3 characters. The book "shows" you what happens when the cameras stop rolling and reality sets in. There is tension, controversies, rivalry and drama on and off the set.

When the star of the show is found dead everyone becomes a suspect. The story unravels slowly,  builds up to a frenzy and then abruptly ends. The cattiness, drama and suspense keeps you turning the pages. The characters are well developed and have distinct voices. This is a perfect read for those who love thrillers.

* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review



Friday, May 18, 2018

Sing you Home by Jodi Picoult

Zoe and Max have spent thousands of dollars in trying to conceive a child. After Zoe's most recent miscarriage her life starts to fall apart. She wants to try again but Max does not. They are both heartbroken and their marriage falls apart.

Zoe meets someone new and discovers that she is attracted to women. Zoe and her new partner,  Vanessa want to have a child. They want to use the last of the embryo's that Zoe and Max have at the fertility clinic. Max is not in favor of this and a legal battle ensues over the custody of the embryo's.

Sing you Home is told in typical Picoult fashion from the perspective of our main characters, Zoe, Max and Vanessa. This gives you insight into what each character is going through and feeling. The book had a great plot line and is well written. It isn't my most favorite book of her's as it tends to be a bit repetitive and long winded. There is a CD that accompanies the book however since I read an e-book version, I was not privy to it but I don't feel as though I missed out on anything in particular. 

If you are not comfortable with homosexually or have issues with gay rights this book might not be for you. 

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin
Release Date: June 26, 2018


I love Emily Giffin's writing. She is amongst a small number of authors whose books I pick up without having any idea what it's about. I have that much faith - that the book will be good regardless of what topic is covered.

All We Ever Wanted is a spectacular novel and a page turner. This might be one of Giffin's best novels to date. This book is quite different from her usual chick-lit. It tackles social media in this day and age. How teens and parents use it differently and the ramifications of several mistakes that can lead to big consequences. Race and social class play a very important role in showing how society continues to use them as dividing forces. This is a very different direction for Giffin but I love it and am looking forward to seeing what other direction her writing takes. 

The novel is told from multiple points of view. Each character and voice is distinct. The three main characters are, Nina, Tom and Lyla. Lyla is 15 years old and our victim in the story. Tom is Lyla's, father and a hard working single father. Nina is the quintessential suburban mom. 

The actions of Nina's son, Fitch brings the lives of these characters together.  A scandalous photograph goes viral altering perceptions and irrevocably changing relationships and  family dynamics. Be prepared to be entertained and ride a roller coaster of emotion. 
This is one read you won't want $to miss this year.

* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Boob Job: Confessions of a Professional Bra Fitter by Natalee Woods

Boob Job: Confessions of a Professional Bra Fitter
Expected Publication Date: July 24th  



Natalee's Wood is a professional bra fitter. She works for a well known retail outlet. She's been fitting bars for over a decade but it's less about the boobs and more about the people. She forges relationships with many of the people who she assists. Some are fleeting others are long standing.  Some are more memorable than others.

Be prepared to laugh and if you've worked retail - you'll easily recall your favorite and least favorite moments in the industry. More often than now our body images are tied to our breasts and something as simple as the perfect bra size can up one's spirits. Our breasts define as a women and many of us have complex relationships with them. I myself have gone from loathing them to loving them.

Go out get your bra fitted and pick up a copy of this super fast, easy, entertaining
read.

* I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

Baby Teeth is deliciously disturbing.  If you are familiar with and enjoyed "The Bad Seed" (book and movie) and/or  Lionel S...